The year without summer : 1816 and the volcano that darkened the world and changed history
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2013.
Edition
First edition.
ISBN
9780312676452, 031267645X
Physical Desc
338 pages ; 25 cm
Status
Cranston Central - Adult Non-Fiction
551 .21 KLI
1 available
William Hall - Adult Non-Fiction
551 .21 KLI
1 available

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Cranston Central - Adult Non-Fiction551 .21 KLIOn Shelf
William Hall - Adult Non-Fiction551 .21 KLIOn Shelf
LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Burrillville (Jesse Smith) - Adult Non-Fiction551.21 KliOn Shelf
Coventry - Adult Non-Fiction551.21 KLIOn Shelf
Cross Mills - Adult Non-Fiction (Lower Level)551.21 KliOn Shelf
Cumberland - Non-Fiction (2nd Floor)7014 NATURE-VOLCANOES-KLIChecked OutJune 25, 2024
East Greenwich - Adult Non-Fiction551.21 KLIOn Shelf
Show All Copies

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2013.
Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Language
English
ISBN
9780312676452, 031267645X

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (pages [311]-323) and index.
Description
In the tradition of Krakatoa, The World Without Us, and Guns, Germs and Steel comes a sweeping history of the year that became known as 18-hundred-and-froze-to-death. 1816 was a remarkable year, mostly for the fact that there was no summer. As a result of a volcanic eruption in Indonesia, weather patterns were disrupted worldwide for months, allowing for excessive rain, frost, and snowfall through much of the Northeastern U.S. and Europe in the summer of 1816. The Year Without Summer examines not only the climate change engendered by this event, but also its effects on politics, the economy, the arts, and social structures.

Syndetics Unbound

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Klingaman, W. K., & Klingaman, N. P. (2013). The year without summer: 1816 and the volcano that darkened the world and changed history (First edition.). St. Martin's Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Klingaman, William K and Nicholas P. Klingaman. 2013. The Year Without Summer: 1816 and the Volcano That Darkened the World and Changed History. St. Martin's Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Klingaman, William K and Nicholas P. Klingaman. The Year Without Summer: 1816 and the Volcano That Darkened the World and Changed History St. Martin's Press, 2013.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Klingaman, William K., and Nicholas P Klingaman. The Year Without Summer: 1816 and the Volcano That Darkened the World and Changed History First edition., St. Martin's Press, 2013.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.